Resolution Update


Jillian Michaels' Fitness Ultimatum 2009

Image via Wikipedia

On 12/17, I wrote a blog about my New Year’s resolutions – all intended to get back to ME.  It’s only the second day of January but already I’ve had some disappointments and need to get back on track.

1.  Fit into my wedding ring. A week before Christmas, the goal was to lose around 15 pounds.  A week after Christmas, it’s more like 20.  Sigh.

2.  Exercise/improve heart health. Yesterday, I started reducing carbs and drinking more water.  I also started exercising.  I now have completed two days of Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred workout video and, according to Jillian, am well on my way to being shredded.

The first time I used this video (almost three years ago already?), I used weights and pushed really hard; couldn’t raise my arms for days afterwards.  That made it tough to do simple things like lift and buckle my little one into the SUV.  When the time came time for the next work-out, it didn’t happen.  I can’t afford to be out of commission  over something like that so this time I’m easing into the workout without weights.  They’ll be added soon enough.  So far, so good.

3.  Reduce coffee intake. Coffee intake has been reduced from three to two cups per day.  The plan is to completely eliminate it when supply runs out, and that probably will be in February.  Water and tea are filling the void.

4.  Turn off my computer by 9:00 p.m. every night. I remembered this one at 9:30 last night; hoping to do better tonight.

5.  Read at least two grown-up books per month:  one for fun and one for education/self-improvement. At night before bed, I’m reading a book about thought management.  During the day, I’m listening to an audio book while doing chores.  Loving it!

6.  Blog once a week or more. This is my fourth blog since 12/17.  So far, so good.

Have you made any resolutions for 2011?  If so, how are you doing?

Leave a Reply

